BS Bassi, the former Delhi Police Commissioner appointed UPSC member


A brief introduction of BS Bassi

Miscellaneous India
The President Pranab Mukherjee on 31 May 2016 appointed Bhim Sain Bassi, IPS (Retd) as a member of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

He will hold the constitutional post till February 2021, from the day when he enters the office.

About BS Bassi
• He is an officer of Indian Police Service of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre of 1977 batch.
• During his career spanning over 38 years has held several important positions like Commissioner, Delhi Police, Special Commissioner (Traffic), Delhi Police, Special Commissioner (Vigilance), Delhi Police, Inspector General, Chandigarh police and DGP, Goa Police.
• He retired as Delhi Police chief on 29 February 2016.
• He began his police career as an Assistant Superintendent of Police in Pondicherry.

Constitutional provision
Appointment and term of office of UPSC members in defined under Article 316 of the Constitution of India.

Under the Constitution, a member of the UPSC can have a maximum tenure of six years or till he attains the age of 65 years.

Deepak Gupta is heading UPSC as its chairman. Other members include Alka Sirohi, David R Syiemlieh, Manbir Singh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, Vinay Mittal, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra, Arvind Saxena and Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi.
Contact Us Terms of Services Privacy Policy Government Jobs Sarkari Naukri Rojgar Samachar Nausena Bharti

Follow us on : Find us on Facebook Find us on Google+ Find us on Twitter

2018 - All Rights Reserved
Looking for Jobs? Click Here Post Your Resume Free !